S G I  flag

Soka flag was suggested by President Ikeda

at the First Women’s Division Meeting

on the Invocation Day (28 April) in 1988.

The flag’s three colours indicate

the vibrant spirit of Buddhism of the Sun: 

  1. the red colour signifies victory of the emerging sun,                       

  2. the yellow colour indicates golden glory, and

  3. the blue colour stands for tranquillity and attaining peace.


   S G I  Logo

SGI official logo is a stylised Lotus Flower signifying the Lotus Sutra.

There is no specific colour assigned to the eight-petalled Lotus.


Traditional Buddhism Logo

In Traditional Buddhism, the eight-spoked ”Wheel of the Law” is used as a symbol for the “Four Noble Truths and Eightfiold Paths”, which was the first teaching of Shakyamuni Buddha. It is notable that Traditional Buddhism makes the elementary teaching of the Eightfold Paths as its symbol, while SGI takes the final teaching of the Buddha, the Lotus Sutra as its symbol.

Traditional Buddhist flag

The traditional Buddhist flag includes 5 colours: the 3 primary colours (present in SGI flag) in addition to white and orange colours.

It was jointly designed by Mr J.R. de Silva and Colonel Henry S. Olcott to mark the revival of Buddhism in Ceylon in 1880. It was accepted as the Buddhist Flag by the 1952 World Buddhist Congress.

Colonel Olcott designed a flag from the colours of the aura that he believed shone around the head of the Buddha after his Enlightenment:




Blue:         Universal Compassion

Yellow :    The Middle Path

Red :         Blessing

White :      Purity

Orange :  Wisdom (Priests)